trash plus 3.99

I found these two cedar (?) planters curb-side waiting for their journey to a local landfill.  They even were filled with high grade planting soil….I could not resist.  They virtually jumped into my car.

One box was split, some wood glue and a clamp handled that issue in no time at all.  So far so good.

I already had these six foot hardwood stakes that I bought at the local discount store, one package only 3.99.  I bought two packs.

Prior to finding these planters curb-side, I was actually planning on buying the planters for my project.  What was I thinking?  ( Disclaimer: I live near an area where people throw away anything and everything – maybe that happens everywhere I don’t know)

After a brief lesson with this saw, a compound miter saw, I was on my way. My goal is/was to build a semi privacy wall of flowers for the south facing end of our front porch.  Currently, morning glories are started in the box and I will add some hanger greenery, plus fill in the base color.

I also might try hyacinth bean vine, which I first grew while living in Texas.  I brought the seeds up north and have been  growing it ever since.  Up here it blooms late August and September.  It is spectacular. (shown below)

Once the box is populated, and it’s as pretty as I am imagining, I’ll be sure post an update.

I am hoping it will not appear junkie or cluttered once the plants take over. If it does I will move it somewhere else.

Have a great day!  Cheers!

Leave a Reply

